Business with Germany - General Information

The Federal Republic of Germany is a state in Central Europe. It stretches over 357,121.41km² and has borders with nine neighboring countries:

  • Denmark
  • Poland
  • Czechia
  • Austria
  • Switzerland
  • France
  • Luxembourg
  • Belgium
  • Netherlands

The capital and headquarters of government is Berlin. Six ministries still remain in the former capital Bonn (until 1999).

In 2014, Germany had approximately 81.1 million inhabitants. This equals a population density of 225 inhabitants per km². About 3.4 million people live in the capital Berlin.

About 51% of the population are female. According to estimations by the Federal Statistical Office in 2013, 20.5% of the population had immigrant backgrounds.

Migrants mainly came from:

  • Europe (78.4%, from European Union: 42%)
  • Asia/ Oceania (13.4%)
  • Middle East (10.6%)

The most common individual countries of origin are:

  • Turkey (18.7%)
  • Poland (8.3%)
  • The Russian Federation (2.7%)

The official language in Germany is German. In addition to that, English is common as a business language. This is especially true for international companies.

In the border regions, it is not uncommon that the official language of the respective neighboring country is spoken during business meetings, especially:

  • French
  • Dutch
  • Polish

The Federal Republic has a direct connection to the Atlantic Ocean via the Northern and Baltic Sea. The German mainland coast is approximately 1,200 km long.

Germany is a parliamentary democracy. Head of state is the President (Bundespräsident); the government is headed by the chancellor (Bundeskanzler).

The official currency is the Euro. Currently, 1 Euro equals 37.41 THB (exchange rate July 16, 2015).

Germany has a federal structure and comprises 16 states (Bundesländer):

  • Schleswig Holstein
  • Mecklenburg-Vorpommern
  • Hamburg
  • Lower Saxony
  • Bremen
  • Brandenburg
  • Berlin
  • Saxony-Anhalt
  • North Rhine-Westphalia
  • Hesse
  • Thuringia
  • Saxony
  • Rhineland-Palatinate
  • Saarland
  • Bavaria
  • Baden-Württemberg

The federal states each have a parliament, government and capital. The legislative powers are distributed between the federal and state parliaments in the German constitution, with the majority of legislative powers lying with the federal parliament.

Marius Mehner
Deputy Executive Director


+66 (0) 2-055-0614